Broadcaster Magazine

CTV Announces Acquisition of New Cooking Competition Series

CTV  announced today from the Television Critics Association tour it has acquired nine episodes of the all-new cooking competition series The Taste from distribution company Seven One International. With culinary experts Anthony Bourdain and Nigella Lawson, who serve as executive producers and head a distinguished panel of four judges, The Taste features professional and amateur cooks vying for the title of “Best Tasting Dish.” The ultimate taste test series kicks off with a two-part premiere Tuesday, Jan. 22  and Sunday, Jan. 27 on CTV.   The series settles into its regular timeslot of Tuesdays  beginning January 29.

The all-new one-hour cooking competition series puts 16 culinary competitors – pro chefs to home cooks – to the fire when four of the world’s most notable masters of the food world judge their creations based on a blind taste test. In the pressure-packed competition series, the taste in a single spoonful can catapult a contender to the top, or send them packing. The Taste features four culinary superstars including no-holds barred chef Anthony Bourdain, British food star Nigella Lawson, expert chef and author Ludo Lefebvre, and chef/restaurateur Brian Malarkey as mentors.

Each of the famed culinary experts coach a team of four amateur and professional cooks, facing a variety of team and individual challenges, and elimination rounds. At the end of each episode, the mentors judge the competitors’ dishes blind, with no knowledge of whose creation they’re sampling, what they’re eating, how it was prepared, or whom they could be sending home.

Created by Kinetic Content, Red Arrow’s U.S. production company, The Taste is executive-produced by Chris Coelen, Matilda Zoltowski, Emma Conway, Anthony Bourdain, and Nigella Lawson.