Broadcaster Magazine

CTV Announces Tribute Special For Flashpoint

Since 2008, CTV’s trailblazing series Flashpoint has entertained millions of viewers in Canada and all over the world. It has inspired an industry, paving the way for the hit Canadian series that have followed. And now, on Thursday, Dec. 6 and 13,  CTV presents the much-anticipated, two-part series finale of Flashpoint, fittingly entitled “Keep the Peace”. In the mind-blowing, not-to-be missed final episodes, Team One faces its most deadly adversary yet – a brilliant serial bomber who takes an entire city hostage. Now, more than ever, their will is put to the ultimate test in the series’ shocking conclusion – one that changes Team One forever and will go down as the most action-packed Canadian television episode in memory.

With just three weeks to go until the final goodbye to the series, CTV is launching a massive promotional campaign that includes, on-air, radio, online and social media to generate awareness about the final farewell to Flashpoint. CTV invites viewers to celebrate the end of an era with the exclusive tribute special, Flashpoint: The Final Salute, premiering Thursday, Dec. 13  on CTV. CTV also presents complementary, interactive fan promotions, including a gala finale screening, all leading up to the highly anticipated final episode on Dec. 13.

“Viewers will be blown away by a remarkable ending to one of the best Canadian series ever,” said Phil King, President, CTV Programming and Sports. “While Dec. 13 marks Flashpoint’s final episode, the memories and the legacy left behind will live on forever. A heartfelt thank you goes out to everyone who made this trailblazing series a success, and to the devoted fans who have been on this journey with us over the past five seasons.”

Leading up to the final episode, ETALK’s Ben Mulroney sits down with series’ stars Hugh Dillon, Enrico Colantoni, Amy Jo Johnson, David Paetkau, and Sergio DiZio on their last day on set together as a group. The poignant, all-new 30-minute CTV special, Flashpoint: The Final Salute premieres Thursday, Dec. 13 , just hours before the final episode airs. Shot on set at “SRU Headquarters”, the cast reflect on the past five seasons, their most memorable moments, what Flashpoint means to them, and more.

Immediately following Part 1 of the Flashpoint series finale (Dec. 6), viewers can log on to  for the first-ever live video after-show with series’ stars Amy Jo Johnson, David Paetkau, Sergio Di Zio, and creators Mark Ellis and Stephanie Morgenstern. The live video stream allows viewers logged on to to watch and get their insider take on the episode and the series, while teasing the finale episode. Plus, a selection of hand-picked fan questions submitted through a live chat window  will be put forward by to the  team during the after-show, allowing for unprecedented user involvement. Before Part 2 of the series finale on Thursday, Dec. 13, visit to view heartfelt video goodbye messages from the series’ stars.

With just three weeks to go until the final scene,  of the series finale continues on with an exciting new contest. Starting now, viewers are invited to share their reflections on what the series has meant to them.  CTV will pass these notes along to the cast and producers and every submission will be entered in a random weekly prize draw for exclusive Flashpoint memorabilia, including signed cast photos, a locations poster signed by the producers, and a signed finale episode script. With a handful of messages posted to each week, fans can take this opportunity to bid farewell for five great seasons of incredible memories. The contest closes on Friday, Dec. 14.

 The celebration concludes Dec. 13 as CTV hosts the ultimate Flashpoint finale screening experience at the TIFF Bell Lightbox in Toronto. Fans will be able to watch the final two episodes hours before the live broadcast, followed by a special Q & A session with the cast and the producers. More information, including how to gain access to this exclusive event, will be available online.

Originally developed by CTV, a pilot for Flashpoint (then called Sniper) was shot in 2007. In January, 2008, CBS joined on as broadcast partner before the series began principal photography in the spring of 2008. Flashpoint premiered on July 11, 2008 on CTV and CBS, with 1.13 million viewers in Canada, and 8.73 million viewers in the U.S. Flashpoint was the first Canadian series since Due South to air in network primetime in both Canada and the United States, leading the way for several other Canadian series to head south of the border and air on U.S. networks.

Flashpoint has been nominated 83 times for numerous awards, including the Gemini Awards, Directors Guild of Canada Awards, Writers Guild of Canada Awards, Monte Carlo Television Festival, ACTRA and PRISM. The series has won 11 Gemini Awards, including Best Dramatic Series, Best Writing in a Dramatic Series (Mark Ellis and Stephanie Morgenstern), Best Direction in a Dramatic Series (Kelly Makin), Best Performance by an Actor in a Continuing Leading Dramatic Role (Enrico Colantoni), and Best Performance by an Actor in a Featured Supporting Role in a Dramatic Program or Mini-Series (Sergio Di Zio).

Over the course of its 75 episodes, Flashpoint has been shot in more than 500 Toronto locations over 525 shoot days, covering 4,500 script pages and 7,000 scenes, written by 25 writers and featuring 925 guest actors and 2,250 extras.

Upon filming its final scene in August, FLASHPOINT will have filmed in more than 500 Toronto locations, covering 75 episodes, 525 shoot days, 7,000 scenes, and 4,500 script pages, and feature 925 characters, 2,250 extras, and 25 writers.

In addition to ION Television in the U.S., Flashpoint is also licensed in more than 100 territories worldwide, including RTL2 in Germany, Canal Plus in France and Veronica in the Netherlands.

Flashpoint is produced by Pink Sky Entertainment and Avamar Entertainment in association with CTV and ION Television. Anne Marie La Traverse and Bill Mustos serve as executive producers. Co-creators/executive producers Mark Ellis and Stephanie Morgenstern helm the writing department. Trish Williams and Gosia Kamela are the CTV Production Executives working with the series. Corrie Coe is Senior Vice-President, Independent Production, Bell Media. Mike Cosentino is Senior Vice-President, Programming, CTV Networks.