Broadcaster Magazine

Harold Greenberg Fund Announces Support for Script Development Projects

Bell Media’s Harold Greenberg Fund announced today from the Canadian Media Production Association’s Prime Time in Ottawa the support of 40 new script development projects and the appointment of award-winning screenwriter and producer Suzette Couture as co-chair of the Board of Directors. The Harold Greenberg Fund is an organization dedicated to supporting independent film production in all stages of development.

“With first features from established literary voices like novelist Sheila Heti and playwright Hannah Moscovitch, the first English-language features by Academy Award® nominees Kim Nguyen, Luc Déry and Kim McGraw as well as new projects by celebrated Canadian directors such as Sudz Sutherland, our latest round of supported projects illustrates what an exciting time this is for Canadian film,” said John Galway, the Fund’s English-Language Program President. “We are extremely proud to support the nation’s finest filmmakers and thrilled to have Suzette Couture leading the charge as our new Board of Directors co-chair.”

 Writer-producer of Canadian classics such as The Man Who Lost Himself and The City, Suzette Couture has been named co-chair after more than 10 years on the English-language committee of the Harold Greenberg Fund. Couture brings a wealth of extensive experience in both the creative and business sides of the film and television industry to the role. Couture won her fourth screenwriting Gemini Award for the CTV movie After the Harvest.  She was awarded the Humanitas Prize for the CBS miniseries Haven, and her CBS miniseries Jesus was nominated for an Emmy. As a partner in Sarrazin Couture Entertainment, she won the Golden Reel Award for highest box office for her first Canadian feature, La Florida. She is now writing the feature film adaptation of 419, the Giller Prize winning novel. Couture succeeds Bryn Matthews, who had served as the board’s co-chair since 2006. Also joining the Board of Directors is Corrie Coe, Senior Vice-President, Independent Production, Bell Media.

The board of directors of the Harold Greenberg Fund has 14 members drawn from the film and television industry. The Fund operates two financing programs – English and French – each with its own financing components. The programs are respectively administered by a committee of seven members of the board of directors of the Harold Greenberg Fund.

Below is a list of the 40 new script development projects announced by Bell Media’s Harold Greenberg Fund:

Story Optioning:

The Jane Austen Marriage Manual

DCP Film & TV Inc.

Screenwriter: Kim Izzo


Federgreen Entertainment Inc.

Screenwriter: D.W. Wilson

The Secret World of Og

Honalee Productions Inc.

Screenwriter: Robin Hays


January Films Ltd.

Screenwriter: Sheila Heti


Marcon Pictures Inc.


Telling Tales (Baryshnikov Project)

Lumino Pictures Inc.

Screenwriter: David Weaver

“Y”: A Novel

Quarterlife Crisis Productions Inc.

Screenwriter: TBD

The Outlander

Strada Films Inc.

Screenwriter: Esta Spalding

The Mistress of Nothing

Markham Street Films Inc.

Screenwriter: Elke Town

Treatment to First Draft:

Telling Tales (Baryshnikov Project)

Lumino Pictures Inc.

Screenwriter: David Weaver

A Hell of a Harvest

Scythia Films Inc.

Screenwriters: Simon Ennis and Josh Peace

Cellist of Sarajevo

Strident Films, Inc.

Screenwriter: Don McKellar

Seventeen Days

Darius Films Inc.

Screenwriter: Gerald Wexler

First to Second Draft:

The Feast

3 Legged Dog Films Ltd.

Screenwriter: Ed Gass-Donnelly

Far To Go

House of Films Inc.

Screenwriters: Hannah Moscovitch and Rosa Laborde

Wrecking Ball

Mad Samurai Productions

Screenwriter: Daniel DiMarco

The Mistress of Nothing

Markham Street Films Inc.

Screenwriter: Elke Town

Earthly Justice

Media-Max Inc.

Screenwriter: Avrum Jacobson


Prospector Films

Screenwriter: Johnny Ma


Resonance Films Inc.

Screenwriter: Jason Filiatrault

Four One Nine

Sarrazin Productions Inc.

Screenwriter: Suzette Couture

Remedy in Paris

Screen Siren Pictures Inc.

Screenwriter: Ian Iqbal Rashid

Operation Red Dog

Hungry Eyes Film & Television Inc.

Screenwriters: Sudz Sutherland and Jennifer Holness

Second to Final Draft:

Jumbo’s Clown Room

Buffalo Gal Pictures Development Inc.

Screenwriter: Alison Murray

Stealing Is Bad

Okita Lapeyre Pictures Inc.

Screenwriter: Jason Lapeyre

The Invisibles

Quadrant Motion Pictures Inc.

Screenwriters: Andrew Currie and Colin Aussant

Doubles With Slight Pepper

Red Stone Revival Productions Inc.

Screenwriter: Ian Harnarine

Ava Lee

Strada Films Inc.

Screenwriter: Karen Walton

Red Snow

True West Films Ltd.

Screenwriter: Marie Clements

Closet Monster

Rhombus Media

Screenwriter: Stephen Dunn

Polish and Packaging:

You Belong To Me

Uno Bravo Inc.

Screenwriter: Spencer Maybee


Alcina Pictures

Screenwriter: David Bradley Halls

How to Go to a Wedding Alone

Gearshift Films

Screenwriter: Renuka Jeyapalan

Origin of the World

Item 7 Inc.

Screenwriter: Kim Nguyen

A Worthy Companion

micro scope Inc.

Screenwriters: Jason Sanchez and Carlos Sanchez

A Good Girl Story

Engine Pictures Inc.

Screenwriters: Sean Garrity and Jonathan Williams

Everything Sucks

Ilana C Frank Films Inc.

Screenwriter: Charlotte Corbeil-Coleman

Beale Street

Euclid 431 Pictures Inc.

Screenwriter: Nathan Morlando


Screen Door Inc./Rink Rat Productions Inc.

Screenwriter: Sherry White

Sweetness in the Belly

Sienna Films Inc.

Screenwriter: Laura Phillips