Broadcaster Magazine
News

Travel + Escape Unveils Spring Programming


Travel+Escape brings viewers a full crop of fresh programming just in time for spring. From all-new series premieres to anticipated finales and marathons, Travel+Escape proves it’s the destination to be as we put winter in the rear-view mirror.

Anthony Bourdain’s The Layover makes it’s highly anticipated exclusive Canadian debut on Wednesday, April 11 at 10pm ET/PT. Bourdain is back like never before with a high octane series that gives him just 24-48 hours to explore an unexpected destination. Viewers get a ringside seat as Tony goes on the hunt for localintel and explores the essential “must see” places, people and foods in locations including: New York, Los Angeles, Rome, Montreal, San Francisco, Miami, Hong Kong, London, Singapore, and Amsterdam. His itineraries, completely off the beaten track and all accomplished within a matter of hours, are mini-trips of a lifetime. On April 2, Rogers customers can access a special sneak-peek episode of The Layover on Rogers Video On-Demand. Watch a preview of the series here. Viewers can also go online for a chance to win the ultimate Anthony-Bourdain-style 48-hour layover in one of the 10 cities from Season 1!

Making a return to the small screen is the premiere of original series Cottage Life on Sunday, April 29 at 9pm ET/6pm PT. The television extension of the popular magazine of the samename, viewers can anticipate an enhancement of the editorial they’ve come to enjoy and expect from Cottage Life. Whether it’s roadside attractions, cooking up a storm, DIY projects or relaxing by the lake, hosts Erin, Wayne and Jason explore the many facets of life by the lake. From the historic to the modern, the cheap-and-cheerful to the high-end, take in a little cottage life.

Everyone’s favourite moustachioed chef, Massimo Capra wraps up a world wind tour in the season finale of Gourmet Escapes on Sunday, March 25 – 8:30pm ET/5:30pm PT. Back to his hometown of Cremona, Italy, Massimo cooks a meal with the ingredients he grew-up with, bumping into a few friends along the way. Immediately following the finale, check out At Home With Massimo, the Behind-the-Scenes Web Exclusive of him in his hometown and then join the conversation online from 9-10pm ET/6-7pm PT with Massimo @TravelandEscape and follow #ChefMassimo. Get a front row seat on his personal tour of memories through the piazza, his favourite pastry shops, the fields he foraged as a child, and the very childhood home where he cooked his first meals with his mother. Online audiences can tweet for their chance to win their very own limited edition, autographed copy of 3 Chefs. Miss an episode of Gourmet Escapes? Click here to catch up before the finale or tune in to the marathon leading up to the finale episode from 2:30pm ET/11:30am PT to 8:30pm ET/5:30pm PT.

Travel+Escape’s new original series Destination Fear keeps viewers on the edge of their seats. Premiering Saturday, May 5 at 11pm ET/8pm PT, the series follows unsuspecting travellers, obsessed with the paranormal, who are set up by a close friend or relative for a fear-fuelled trip of a lifetime to various locations across North America. The travellers are convinced they’ve been contracted to help on a video production about the frightening location they visit, all while their loved ones hatch a meticulous plan to have themshaking in their boots. Each bizarre adventure will be meticulously staged to enhance the already frightening location and to scare the daylights out of the travellers.

Reality trivia show host, Jason Agnew, travels acrossNorth America going door to door, offering cash, trips and prizes to ordinary folks who can answer trivia about their hometown. This new original series, Door To Door, premieres Wednesday, May 2 at 9pm ET/6pm PT. Know your geography, local legends and in house collectables, because staying at home has never been so lucrative.

 Dust off your tackle box for Season 3 of exotic angling series Fishing Adventurer. The international adventures of energetic fisherman Cyril Chauquet premieres Friday, March 30 at 9pm ET/PT. The series promises a wild journey to the four corners of our planet in discovery of the most exotic of fish. Come along for the catch! Reflect on all the big waves from the last season during the Season 2 Marathon on Friday, April 6 from 7am ET/4am PT to 9pm ET/6pm PT.

The cross-Canada adventure Operation Unplugged comes to a conclusion in the season finale airing Tuesday, March 27 at 9pm ET/PT. Host Alan Bishop takes the cast on theirtoughest missions yet to Fort Langley National Historic Site and then on toPacific Rim National Park Reserve in stunning British Columbia. As the journey comes to an end, the cast must put to use all of the skills they’ve learnedfrom the very beginning. Only one of them will receive the title of Operation Unplugged Explorer – who will it be? Catch up on all the excitement of the series during the Operation Unplugged Marathon on Saturday, March 31 from 2pm ET/11am PT to 8pm ET/5pm PT.

Celebrate Earth Day on Sunday April 22 from 8pm ET/5pm PT to 11pm ET/8pm PT with extreme traveler Jayms Ramirez in the Ecoluxe Marathon. Jayms treks across the globe from Mozambique to the Fiji Islands, and proves that it’s possible to travel responsibly and green, while still getting one’s adrenaline pumping.