DAILY NEWS Mar 10, 2011 8:21 AM - 0 comments

JUNO Awards TV Coverage, Artist Line-Up Expands

TEXT SIZE bigger text smaller text

For the first time since CTV's inaugural JUNO AWARDS broadcast in 2002, Canada's Music Awards will expand to two-and-a-half hours, the network has confirmed.

The show will air live on the main CTV network, will specialty channels providing additional red carpet coverage. The Awards show will also be available online, on demand, following the TV broadcast.

In celebration of its tenth JUNO AWARDS broadcast and the 40th Anniversary of the JUNO Awards, producers say the broadcast will feature even more performances by some of the biggest names in Canadian music.

Hosted by Canadian superstar recording artist Drake, the special extended broadcast airs from Toronto's Air Canada Centre on Sunday, March 27 LIVE in Ontario, Québec and Atlantic Canada.

Helping to celebrate the 40th Anniversary of the JUNO Awards are iconic Canadian musicians Bryan Adams, Buffy Sainte-Marie, Daniel Lanois, Robbie Robertson, and Rush's Alex Lifeson and Geddy Lee. They will be joined by Lady Antebellum's Charles Kelley, deadmau5, the Honourable James Moore, K'Naan, Shad, Tokyo Police Club and the hosts of CTV's first JUNO broadcast in 2002, Barenaked Ladies.

Ten years ago, CTV, upon securing a new three-year deal with CARAS for the broadcast of The JUNO Awards, jointly decided to test the concept of a travelling-style format to St. John's, NL for its first-ever broadcast of Canada's Music Awards.

The "test" was an enormous success for viewers, the music industry, the local community and CARAS and CTV. Since then, CTV and CARAS have brought Canada's Music Awards to one end of the country and back, engaging tens of millions of music fans at home and on TV across Canada. Now Canada's pre-eminent Awards broadcast, THE JUNO AWARDS airs for the first time on CTV from Toronto, the city where it originated 40 years ago.

"A new generation of music fans has now grown up with THE JUNO AWARDS on CTV," said Susanne Boyce, President, Creative, Content, and Channels, CTV Inc. "Over the past ten years, we have been fortunate enough to have witnessed the entire country singing in tune together on one magical night each year, and for that we are very grateful."

THE 2011 JUNO AWARDS have already announced the participation and performances of artists such as: Arcade Fire, Chromeo, Down With Webster, Hedley, Johnny Reid and Sarah McLachlan.

Also celebrating its 10th anniversary broadcast, CTV's ETALK AT THE JUNOS has turned into a major red carpet event, with coverage this year hosted by ETALK anchors Ben Mulroney and Tanya Kim, with ETALK reporter Lainey Lui and MTV NEWS Host Aliya-Jasmine Sovani.

Complete program listings and regional times are available online.

Additionally, MuchMusic host Lauren Toyota, along with co-hosts Damian Abraham, Phoebe Dykstra and Tyrone Edwards, check-in live on MUCH ON THE CARPET, airing at 7 p.m. ET on Much.

 Supported by CTV's complementary programming on its various news, entertainment, radio and online properties, last year's JUNO AWARDS broadcast on CTV was watched by 1.6 million viewers on average - the most since 2003 - with 6.5 million unique viewers.

This year marks the tenth year in a row that THE JUNO AWARDS will air on CTV, the Official Broadcast partner of the JUNO Awards. Broadcast in high definition and 5.1 surround sound, THE 2011 JUNO AWARDS, Canada's Music Awards, airs Sunday, March 27 on CTV from the Air Canada Centre in Toronto, hosted by Canadian superstar recording artist Drake.

Since CTV joined forces with CARAS in 2002, The JUNO Awards have travelled across Canada, bringing a live, electrified stadium show to millions of Canadians. CTV has broadcast THE JUNO AWARDS from St. John's (2002), Ottawa (2003), Edmonton (2004), Winnipeg (2005), Halifax (2006), Saskatoon (2007), Calgary (2008), Vancouver (2009) and back to St. John's (2010).

THE 2011 JUNO AWARDS is produced by Insight Productions in association with CTV and The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS). Executive Producers are John Brunton and Barbara Bowlby for Insight Productions, and Melanie Berry and Ed Robinson for CARAS. Louise Wood is Producer and Lindsay Cox is Supervising Producer. Susanne Boyce is President, Creative, Content and Channels, CTV Inc.

 Broadcast sponsors of THE 2011 JUNO AWARDS are Chevrolet, Garnier, Molson Canadian and Rogers.

Sponsors of the 2011 JUNO Awards include FACTOR, Canada's Private Radio Broadcasters and The Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage's "Canada Music Fund," Radio Starmaker Fund, Ontario Media Development Corporation (OMDC), The City of Toronto, Tourism Toronto, Aeroplan and funding partner Ontario Cultural Attractions Fund.

For more coverage related to this topic, please see:

Extensive Canadian Rock n Roll Photo History Goes Online


Top 100 Singles List Triggers Heated Debate, Online Argument


Musicians, Sponsors Line-Up for 40th JUNO Awards


New iApp Celebrates 40th Anniversary of JUNO Awards

Horizontal ruler