DAILY NEWS Jul 24, 2012 3:42 PM - 2 comments

Olympic Broadcast Consortium Announces Coverage of Open Ceremony

TEXT SIZE bigger text smaller text
2012-07-24

Canada’s Olympic Broadcast Media Consortium announced today details for its coverage of the London 2012 Olympic Games Opening Ceremony, airing live across Consortium platforms this Friday, July 27. The pre-show and the London 2012 Opening Ceremony will be available on CTV, RDS, Sportsnet, TSN, V, OMNI.2, ATN, CTVOlympics.ca, RDSolympiques.ca, and on the CTV Olympics London 2012 and RDS olympiques pour Londres 2012 Apps.

 The coverage kicks off with the pre-show at 2 p.m. ET led by James Duthie and Jennifer Hedger, hosts of Olympic Daytime on CTV. This will include an overview of the big stories of the Games, the debut of the Consortium’s critically-acclaimed features –including the popular Opening Essay written by Stephen Brunt – and live reports from Olympic Stadium with Brian Williams and Lisa LaFlamme. Beginning at 4 p.m. ET, Williams and LaFlamme take over and walk Canadians through the three-and-a-half hour Opening Ceremony, directed by two-time Academy Award-winner Danny Boyle (Slumdog Millionaire).

“The Opening Ceremony is always one of the most exciting events of the Olympic Games,” said Adam Ashton, President, Canada’s Olympic Broadcast Media Consortium. “It transcends sports, setting the stage and the tone for the host city and its visitors. We are confident that the London 2012 Opening Ceremony will be truly spectacular.”

With a potential worldwide audience of more than one billion people, the London 2012 Opening Ceremony has been dubbed the “Isles of Wonder”, as described in Shakespeare’s The Tempest. With the largest sets ever built, the spectacle will feature numerous performances as well as the Parade of Athletes, incorporating more than 200 nations, including Team Canada led by triathlete Simon Whitfield into the Olympic Stadium. Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II will officially open London 2012 and become the first Head of State and monarch to open two Games in two separate countries – Montreal 1976 and London 2012.

An encore of the London 2012 Opening Ceremony will be available on most Consortium networks directly following the original airing and viewers can also watch it on demand at CTVOlympics.ca and RDSolympiques.ca. Additionally, video description will be available for the broadcasts of the Opening and Closing Ceremonies, provided by Descriptive Video Works. This marks the first time this service will be available to blind and visually impaired audiences for the Olympic Games.

Viewers can also listen to special coverage of the Opening Ceremony on Sportsnet 590 The FAN live from 1 p.m. to 7 p.m. ET. The station kicks into high gear at 4 p.m. ET with live coverage, including interviews with Alex Seixeiro and David Alter from the Olympic Stadium.

Best known for his Best Director win at the Academy Awards® for Slumdog Millionaire, critically-acclaimed Artistic Director Danny Boyle was born in Manchester, England. Boyle has dedicated his life to directing and producing and is linked to noteworthy films including 127 Hours, 28 Days Later, The Beach, Shallow Grave, Sunshine, and Trainspotting.

 Beginning Saturday, July 28, viewers can watch all-day Olympic Games programming on the following channels. For Consortium scheduling information, visit the Bell Viewers’ Guide at CTVOlympics.ca/guide, RDSolympiques.ca/leguide or download the CTV Olympics London 2012 and RDS olympiques pour Londres 2012 Apps.

CTV

Show

Times

Hosts

Coverage

OLYMPIC MORNING

4 a.m. – 12 p.m. ET

1 – 9 a.m. PT

(9 a.m. – 5 p.m. BST*)

Dave Randorf

Catriona Le May Doan

Live Sports

OLYMPIC DAYTIME

12 – 6 p.m. ET

9 a.m. – 3 p.m. PT

(5 – 11 p.m. BST*)

James Duthie

Jennifer Hedger

Live Sports

OLYMPIC PRIME TIME

7 – 11 p.m. ET/CT/MT/PT

8 – 12 a.m. AT

(12 – 4 a.m. BST*)

Brian Williams

Live show with best of day highlights and feature interviews

OLYMPIC OVERNIGHT

12 – 4 a.m. ET

(5 – 9 a.m. BST*)

Brian Williams

Encore presentation of OLYMPIC PRIME TIME in ET

RDS

Show

Times

Hosts

Coverage

LONDRES 2012 À RDS

4 a.m. – 12 p.m. ET

(9 a.m. – 5 p.m. BST*)

12 – 6:30 p.m. ET

(5 – 11:30 p.m. BST*)

Claude Mailhot

Alain Crête

Live Sports

AUJOURD’HUI À LONDRES SUR RDS

7 – 11 p.m. ET

(12 – 4 a.m. BST*)

Chantal Machabée

Live show with best of day highlights and feature interviews

AUJOURD’HUI À LONDRES SUR RDS - Rediffusion

12 – 4 a.m. ET

(5 – 9 a.m. BST*)

Chantal Machabée

Encore presentation of AUJOURD’HUI À LONDRES SUR RDS

Sportsnet

Show

Times

Hosts

Coverage

OLYMPIC MORNING

6 a.m. – 12 p.m. ET

3 a.m. – 9 a.m. PT

(11 a.m. – 5 p.m. BST*)

Don Taylor

Live Sports

OLYMPIC DAYTIME

12 – 5 p.m. ET

9 a.m. – 2 p.m. PT

(5 – 10 p.m. BST*)

Daren Millard

Live Sports

OLYMPIC PRIME TIME

7 – 11 p.m. ET/MT/PT

8 p.m. – 12 a.m. AT

(12 – 4 a.m. BST*)

Brad Fay

Best of day highlights and feature interviews

TSN

Show

Times

Hosts

Coverage

OLYMPIC MORNING

6 a.m. – 12 p.m. ET

(11 a.m. – 5 p.m. BST*)

Kate Beirness

Live Sports

OLYMPIC DAYTIME

12 – 5 p.m. ET

(5 – 10 p.m. BST*)

Michael Landsberg

Live Sports

OLYMPIC PRIME TIME

7 – 11 p.m. ET

(12 – 4 a.m. BST*)

Darren Dutchyshen

Live show with best of day highlights and feature interviews

V

Show

Times

Hosts

Coverage

LONDRES 2012 À V

4 a.m. – 12 p.m. ET

(9 a.m. – 5 p.m. BST*)

12 – 6 p.m. ET

(5 – 11 p.m. BST*)

Yanick Bouchard

Frédéric Plante

Live Sports

AUJOURD’HUI À LONDRES SUR V

7 – 11 p.m. ET

(12 – 4 a.m. BST*)

Jean Pagé

Live show with best of day highlights and feature interviews

*BST – British Summer Time (five hours ahead of Eastern Standard Time)


Horizontal ruler

Reader Comments

Most recent firstOldest first

Edgar Wilson

It seems that we will have to sit through hours of Brian Williams entoning in his sanctimonious voice in order to watch the Olympics. A great pity as it will seriously affect the enjoyment. We can only hope that he fades away before 2016.

Posted July 25, 2012 02:23 PM


Clement do Rosario

I have not been able to locate any pre-olympic programs, e.g. Profiling Canadian athletes, a preamble to the Olympics.

Posted July 24, 2012 09:37 PM


FirstPrevNextLast
Horizontal Ruler

Post A Comment

Disclaimer
Note: By submitting your comments you acknowledge that BroadCaster Magazine has the right to reproduce, broadcast and publicize those comments or any part thereof in any manner whatsoever. Please note that due to the volume of e-mails we receive, not all comments will be published and those that are published will not be edited. However, all will be carefully read, considered and appreciated.

Your Name (this will appear with your post) *

Email Address (will not be published) *

Comments *



* mandatory fields