DAILY NEWS Aug 10, 2011 1:54 PM - 0 comments

The Academy to Present CTV's Lloyd Robertson with Special Award

TEXT SIZE bigger text smaller text

CTV newsman Lloyd Robertson is among the broadcast veterans in line for a special award from the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television.

The chief anchor of "CTV National News with Lloyd Robertson" will be presented with the Gordon Sinclair award for broadcast journalism on Aug. 30, two days before his final newscast.  Robertson is set to retire after more than 50 years in the broadcasting industry.

He's one of 10 recipients being honoured for exceptional contributions to the Canadian television and digital media industries.

Other recipients include "Road to Avonlea" actor Cedric Smith; the National Film Board of Canada for its interactive productions and 3D experiments; and Christina Jennings of the production house Shaftesbury, which produces shows including "Murdoch Mysteries" and "The Listener."

The awards will be handed out during two industry galas for the Gemini Awards on Aug. 30 and 31. A televised bash Sept. 7 will salute the best in Canadian TV with awards including best drama and best comedy.

Other special award recipients include:

  • the Actors' Fund of Canada, which provides emergency financial aid to workers in film and television;
  • writer/producer Bob Carney for a lengthy career that included a key role in creating and producing the newsroom drama "E.N.G," co-executive producing 26 episodes of "Due South," and co-executive producing the second season of "Flashpoint;"
  • Paul Bronfman, the chairman of Pinewood Toronto Studios and the film and TV equipment facility William F. White International;
  • inventor David F.E. Corley, who created a colour pattern test for TV broadcasters
  • the documentary "The Storytelling Class," about Winnipeg's culturally diverse Gorden Bell High School;
  • producer Mark Terry, who will receive a humanitarian award for a body of work that includes the 2009 documentary "The Antarctica Challenge: A Global Warning" and 2011's "The Polar Explorer."

Horizontal ruler