Daily News

Broadcaster Magazine

Magazine Archives
Idea Exchange
Email News Letter
Media Kit
Contact Us
Press Room
View Stories by Category

Printer Friendly Version

CAB Convention fast-approaching

Articles in related categories
Association News
CRTC/Regulatory - Radio
CRTC/Regulatory - TV
Intellectual property and copyright
OTTAWA - The 2003 Canadian Association of Broadcasters convention, set for November 9 to 11 is fast-approaching.

The theme is: Private Broadcasting: The Voice of the Nation, The Choice of the Nation. Here is the 2003 convention program and speakers

Sunday, November 9th
10 a.m. to 1 p.m. � Special small market session � Setting the agenda: A strategic planning session for small market radio

Session facilitator: Jane Logan, former v-p radio with the CAB and now a private consultant in broadcast policy and strategic planning.

7 to 8:30 p.m. � Opening party

Monday, November 10th
7:30 to 8:45 a.m. � Opening breakfast and CAB annual general meeting

9:15 to 10 � Keynote address � Michael Adams, president, Environics.

10:30 to 11:45 � Supersessions
1. The year ahead: Visions for private radio

Claude Thibodeau, FM 93 on-air personality, Cogeco Radio (moderator); Scott Cuthbertson, vice-president, broadcasting and communications, TD Securities Inc.; Peter Grant, senior partner, McCarthy Tetrault; John Hayes, president, Corus Radio; Elmer Hildebrand, president and CEO, Golden West Broadcasting; Jacques Parisien, president, Astral Radio Paul Ski, executive v-p, Radio, CHUM Limited; Bob Templeton, president, NewCap Broadcasting.

2. Redesigning the landscape: What's in store for the Canadian television system?
Tony Atherton, Ottawa Citizen (moderator); Andr� Bureau, chairman of the board, Astral Media Inc.; Dean MacDonald, executive v-p and COO, Rogers Cable Inc.; Kevin Shea, president and CEO, 49th Media (invited); Jay Switzer, president and CEO, CHUM Limited; Phyllis Yaffe, CEO, Alliance Atlantis Broadcasting Inc.

12:15 to 1:45 p.m. CAB Hall of Fame luncheon

2:15 to 3:30 � Concurrent sessions:
1. Notes from the front line: The radio/music partnership

Chip Sutherland, media and entertainment lawyer, Patterson Palmer (moderator); Mathieu Drouin, president and COO, Donald K. Donald Group; Farley Flex, v-p business development, FLOW 93.5FM; Andr� Lallier, director, Astral Musique and chair, Fonds RadioStar; Catharine Saxberg, executive director, Radio Starmaker Fund; Lisa Zbitnew, president, BMG Music Canada.

2. Rating the rates: The state of Canadian advertising
Ray Heard, Host, "i on media", i-channel (moderator); Jennifer Dawkins, director of advertising and communications, GM Canada; Hugh Dow, president, M2 Universal; Pat Grierson, president, Canadian Broadcast Sales; Renault Poliquin, v-p sales and marketing, Groupe TVA; Lauren Richards, senior v-p and National Media director, Cosette Media; Jack Tomik, president, CanWest Media Sales.

3. Stealing content: How do you compete with free?
Seamus O'Regan, co-host, Canada AM, CTV Inc. (moderator); Solange Drouin, v-p, publiques affairs and general manager, ADISQ; Roma Khanna, v-p Interactive, CHUM Ltd.; Luc Perreault, v-p, communications and regulatory affairs, M�t�oM�dia/The Weather Network; Jeff Shallit, v-p, Electronic Frontier Canada; Edouard Tr�panier, v-p, regulatory affairs, Quebecor.

4 to 5:15 � Plenary session: Reforming copyright: A dialogue with Canadian legislators
Robert J. Buchan, Johnson & Buchan LLP (moderator); Rob Braide, v-p and g.m. CHOM-FM/CJAD/CJFM-FM and chair, CAB radio board; Christiane Gagnon, MP and member of the Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage; Michael Geist, Canada Research chair in Internet and E-commerce Law, University of Ottawa; Clifford Lincoln, MP and member of the Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage; Kathleen McNair, v-p, business and regulatory affairs, Corus.

5:45 to 7 - CAB/CRTC small market face-to-face
CAB members only

Tuesday, November 11th
7:30 - 8:45 a.m. � Gold Ribbon Awards Breakfast
Guest Speaker:
Charles Dalfen, CRTC chair

9:15 to 10:30 � Plenary Session: New voices: Reflecting diversity in Canadian broadcasting
Bill Roberts, president and CEO, Vision TV (moderator); Shan Chandrasekar, president and CEO, Asian Television Network; Gary Farmer, president, Aboriginal Voices Radio Inc.; Pierre Lampron, president, TVA films and member, Task Force for Cultural Diversity on Television; Marie-Anna Murat, journalist, RDI and member, Task Force for Cultural Diversity on Television; H�l�ne Wavroch, president, Conseil des a�n�s; Madeline Ziniak, v-p OMNI TV and co-chair, Task Force for Cultural Diversity on Television

11:00 to 12:15 � Supersessions
1. Beyond reality? What's next in TV programming

John Doyle, television columnist, Globe and Mail (moderator); Jacques Blain, producer, Cirrus Productions; Judith Brosseau, senior v-p, programming, Canal D, Historia, S�ries+; Paul Gratton, v-p and g.m. and senior programming executive, CHUM Ltd.; Doug Hoover, senior v-p, programming and promotion, CanWest Global; Steven Levitan, president and CEO, Protocal Entertainment Inc.

2. The future of small market broadcasting in Canada
Stu Morton, president, OK Radio Group (moderator); Rick Arnish, president, The Jim Pattison Broadcast Group; Bob Ausfeld, regional v-p, New York Markets, Regent Communications Inc.; Pierre Brosseau, president and CEO, Radio Nord Communications Inc.; Dave Maclean, g.m., CJFX-FM; Marc O'Sullivan, executive director, Broadcasting, CRTC.

12:45 to 2:15 p.m. - Gold Ribbon Awards luncheon
Guest Speaker:
Edward O. Fritts, National Association of Broadcasters president & CEO

2:45 to 4 � Final plenary session � New choices: How Canadians view the changing national agenda
Lisa LaFlamme, national affairs correspondent, CTV News (moderator); The Hon. Francis Fox, P.C., Q.C. , president, Eastern Canada and chairman, Rogers Telecommunications Inc. (Quebec); Kenneth J. Goldstein, president, Communications Management Inc.; Michel Lucas, partner, Decima Research Inc.; Judith Maxwell, president, Canadian Policy Research Networks Inc.; Andr�e Wylie, vice-chair, Broadcasting, CRTC.

6 to 10 p.m. � Closing reception and gala

For more information, contact Marye M�nard-Bos at (613) 233-4035, ext. 311; mbos@cab-acr.ca, or Vanessa Dewson at ext. 309; vdewson@cab-acr.ca or go to the CAB web site at www.cab-acr.ca.
Back to headlines

Email Friend Comment

Copyright � 2004 Business Information Group. All rights reserved.
A member of the esourceNetwork

Business Information Group Privacy Policy


Broadcaster Poll
Do you agree with the CRTC's decision to deny license renewal to Quebec radio station CHOI-FM?