Broadcaster Magazine

Magazine Archives
Idea Exchange
Email News Letter
Media Kit
Contact Us
Press Room
View Stories by Category

Printer Friendly Version

New CTF board, committee, members

Articles in related categories
OTTAWA - Following the Canadian Television Fund's board retreat held on September 9 and 10, the CTF announced its new board of directors as well as the inaugural members of its independent committee.

CTF chair Douglas Barrett welcomed the new board members including Norm Bolen (Alliance Atlantis), Kevin DeWalt (Minds Eye Entertainment), Ted East (Canadian Association of Film Distributors and Exporters), and Paul Gratton (CHUM Television). Barrett also thanked the outgoing members for their significant contributions over the past fiscal year, including Paul Gross, Julia Keatley, Deepa Mehta, Peter Moss, and Bill Mustos.

"The depth of expertise of the board of directors will play a critical role in the corporate governance enhancements the CTF is undertaking, and this at a time when the government is examining its long-term participation with the Fund," said Barrett.

As a first step, the CTF announced its independent committee, composed of five independent board members. Barrett was elected chair of the committee. The Department of Canadian Heritage nominated three independent members: Andr� H. Caron (Universit� de Montr�al), Susan Peterson (Department of Canadian Heritage) and another member to be determined. The Canadian Cable Television Association (CCTA) nominated its president and CEO, Michael Hennessy.

The committee will administer the Fund's conflict of interest guidelines and ensure that board proceedings and decisions, including those related to the CTF's funding guidelines, are free from any inappropriate influence. Independent members go through a thorough process of disclosure, assessment and election, examining each nominee's independence of financial interests, of judgement and from management of the fund.

The Canadian Television Fund was created in 1996 to support the production and broadcast of high quality, distinctively Canadian television programs. The result of a private-public partnership, the CTF is financed by contributions from the Government of Canada, the Canadian cable and direct-to-home satellite industries and Telefilm Canada.
Back to headlines

Email Friend Comment

Copyright � 2004 Business Information Group. All rights reserved.
A member of the esourceNetwork

Business Information Group Privacy Policy


Broadcaster Poll
Do you agree with the CRTC's decision to deny license renewal to Quebec radio station CHOI-FM?